Yamaha RX-V477 Receiver Review

I have no idea what a receiver is going to look like in a decade. It may have 15 sets of binding posts for Dolby Atmos. Or perhaps everything is wireless. Over the past decade we’ve seen old connectors die off as HDMI takes over. Now streaming content is becoming more important as music comes from streaming services and the cloud and not local media.

The Yamaha RX-V477 shows this in its design. S-Video connections are gone and other analog connections are around but in reduced numbers. There are plenty of HDMI connections and support for AirPlay, DLNA, Pandora and Spotify built-in. The sound quality of the high-end Yamaha units has tricked-down as well to the RX-V477. The Yamaha RX-V477 is embracing the future while keeping still keeping one foot in the past and it sounds damn good while doing so.

Forward Looking, Backwards Compatible

Specs
Manufacturer: Yamaha
Model: RX-V477
Inputs: 6x HDMI 1.4a, 2x Component, 4x Composite, 1x Optical, 2x Coaxial, 3x RCA, 1x 3.5mm, Ethernet, USB
Outputs: HDMI 1.4a w/ ARC, 2x Composite, Component, RCA, Subwoofer
Amplifier Section: 5 channels, 80 WPC (stereo)
RoomEQ: No
Size: 17-1/8” x 6-3/8” x 12-3/8”
Weight: 17.6 lbs.
Review Date: July 16, 2014
Price:
Company Website

Buy From Amazon

Why Amazon Links?

The Yamaha RX-V477 has a forward-looking design with 6 HDMI inputs and Internet streaming. Compared to most receivers in this price range is has a high number of legacy inputs. Dual component video inputs and four composite inputs are available though they do not get upconverted to HDMI. There are 4 analog RCA audio inputs, 3 digital inputs (Optical and 2x Coaxial), and a 3.5mm jack on the front panel.

A good choice by Yamaha is to only support 5 speakers instead of the 7, 9, or even 11 that show up on other models. Few people use more than 5 speakers in their system. Supporting more usually results in lower quality performance at the same price as the quality of parts diminishes. If you need 7 channels, you should look at the Yamaha RX-V577 or the Onkyo TX-NR636.

The streaming support in the Yamaha is good, but also a weak point compared to some models in the same price range. There is no Bluetooth without an external adapter, but there is AirPlay. Unfortunately there is also no WiFi so you’ll need to hook it up to Ethernet to use the Airplay feature. The RX-V477 includes Pandora, Spotify Connect, Internet Radio and DLNA for integrated streaming. This covers the most popular streaming services, but certainly isn’t as comprehensive a list as you find on other receivers, or from a streaming box.

DLNA support is good thanks to Yamaha making a good iOS control app. While most companies only provide you a “virtual remote” in their app, Yamaha mimics the UI on the phone. You can scroll through lists of folders and playlists and select your content easily. I almost never use the App instead of the remote, but I used it more with the Yamaha than any other recent receiver.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Easy Setup, Great Sound

Setting up the RX-V477, or any receiver, is easier now than ever before. With only a few HDMI cables and speaker cables to deal with most people can so it in just a few minutes. The included mic and YPAO room correction sets the speaker distances, levels, and crossovers for you. After using it I suggest doing setup by hand. With my full range Mythos STS front speakers it identifies them as small and provides a 120Hz crossover. This 120Hz crossover is global to all speakers that are not full range. 120Hz is fine for my center and surrounds, but neuters the Mythos STS and their integrated, powered subwoofers. Distances and levels are good, but I corrected the size.

I’d like to see Yamaha provide a setup routine that verifies your connections and input. Onkyo has done that this year, making sure everything is working from the start, and it saves you work down the road. Removing inputs through the iOS app is easy, but it should do it at the start.

Setup hiccups aside, sound reigns supreme and the Yamaha RX-V477 delivers. After listening to a other affordable receivers, I was wondering if I didn’t hate my speakers. Their treble was sounding muffled and recessed, and the clarity just wasn’t there anymore. The RX-V477 showed that the issue was the source and not the speakers. Music and movies play through it with remarkable clarity for a $400 receiver.

My music test suite sounds wonderful through the RX-V477. Comparing it to other $400-500 receivers from 2014 the Yamaha sounds much better. Other receivers have a bright, harsh treble that isn’t found on the Yamaha. Miles Davis’ Kind of Blue is clean and easy to listen to. On other receivers I find the saxophone to be so harsh I no longer want to listen to it. Even the brightest modern recordings I enjoy are nice through the Yamaha.

The Spotify Connect feature works great if you have a premium Spotify account. You use the iOS or Android Spotify app to start your music, then select the Yamaha RX-V477 as the target. Spotify then streams the content to the Yamaha instead of your phone, but you can still control it through the app. Volume control in the app adjusts the receiver in 2.5 dB increments as well. The PC and Mac Spotify clients cannot do this, only the smartphone and tablet versions, but it works quite well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

AirPlay works as you expect it to. My iPhone 5 and MacBook Pro see the Yamaha listed as a target and play to it just fine. With Spotify, DLNA and Pandora support built-in I found myself rarely having to use it. For streaming random audio clips from my laptop to my stereo it works well.

Movies are good through the RX-477 though the poor crossover choice in the YPAO setup hampers it. Before I reset the speakers crossover, bass is anchored at the subwoofer location instead of the appropriate front speaker. It’s a larger problem with music, where an upright bass sounds like it is in two places at once, but still an issue with movies. Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds: Live at Radio City sounds good with the ambient sounds there and the guitars having a metallic sound but not a harsh one. The roar of the Kaiju that opens Pacific Rim still has the ability to shake the room through the Yamaha.

Even my turntable sounds very nice through the RX-V477. It doesn’t have a phono stage, but the Audio Technica LP120 does not need one and just uses the AV6 RCA input. The Black Keys El Camino comes across with all the rough textures that are captured on the vinyl. The recent Led Zeppelin remasters pack a punch and the Yamaha does not hold back. Most people may not use the analog inputs on the Yamaha, but if you do you will find they are very good. In Direct mode it simply presents the recording as it is on the LP or disc, without adding its own character to it. That’s what I want in my equipment.

One Touch scene buttons on the remote and front panel make it quick to pop-up your favorite inputs and listening modes. While labeled as “BD”, “TV”, “NET” and “Radio”, you can assign them to any input with a default sound mode. Press the front panel button and it recalls those settings. With HDMI CEC, it will even trigger the connected components to turn on and select the correct inputs. It isn’t as powerful as a universal remote, which I’d recommend over the included one, but it’s better than nothing.

For detailed bench test data on the Yamaha RX-V477, see page 2 of this review where it is tested with an Audio Precision APx582 audio analyzer.

Missing Features

There are a few features missing from the Yamaha that other receivers offer for the same price. No Bluetooth is a big one, as that is the easiest way for friends to play music without needing to join your WiFi network. Integrated WiFi also would be nice, though a good WiFi to Ethernet bridge can be had for $40. If you still have analog video components, the lack of analog to HDMI conversion means you still need to run multiple sets of cables to your display. Fewer and fewer people have non-HDMI video sources, but if you do you might want a higher-end model.

The biggest issue with the Yamaha RX-V477 is future compatibility. There is no HDMI 2.0 or HDCP 2.2 support, so 4K is going to be a problem. You may not be planning to get a 4K display, and so this will not bother you. We will likely have 4K sources with dual HDMI outputs, so you can send video to the TV and audio to the receiver to get around this issue. You also won’t have Dolby Atmos support here, but I don’t see it catching on soon anyway.

Great Performance for the Price

If you only want to spend $400 on a receiver and want the best audio quality, then you want the RX-V477. Thanks to its high-quality components it offers better performance than the competition and still has the important features you need. WiFi and Bluetooth are the main missing pieces, but you can add those or step-up to the RX-V577 if those are essential.

Combined with a good set of speakers, this combination will offer sound quality that a sound bar cannot match. Yamaha may not have the extra features or GUI design of their competitors, but they invest in sound quality, where it matters. Highly recommended for those after a great sounding, entry level receiver.

Review Summary
Product: Yamaha RX-V477
Reviewer:
Pros: Very good sound, good analog and digital audio quality, AirPlay
Cons: No Bluetooth, no HDMI 2.0 or HDCP 2.2, remote
Summary: For an affordable 5.1 channel receiver with very good sound quality, the Yamaha RX-V477 outclasses the similarly priced competition.
Value: 4/5
Performance: 4/5
Overall: 4/5

Buy From Amazon

Why Amazon Links?

89 Responses to Yamaha RX-V477 Receiver Review

  1. Serge July 17, 2014 at 5:44 AM #

    Would you recommend this to someone who’s never owned a receiver? What other receivers have you been able to compare it to (Sony, Onkyo, Denon, etc.)? I was thinking of purchasing RX-V477, in tandem with two floor speakers, a center speaker, and a sub from the Pioneer SP (Andrew Jones) family.

    • Chris Heinonen July 17, 2014 at 7:52 AM #

      I’m writing the receivers piece for The Wirecutter right now, so I directly compared it to models from Pioneer, Sony, Onkyo and Anthem from this year.

      Since the Andrew Jones floor speakers are 6 ohm nominal the Yamaha will do OK with them, and probably produce around 60-70 watts in stereo. The Onkyo TX-NR636 (review coming) will produce far more power, but costs a little bit more. The Yamaha will do better than other $400 receivers will, though.

      • Serge July 17, 2014 at 10:58 AM #

        Thank you so much for the suggestion and I love your work on Wirecutter (can’t wait for the receiver article update). Is NR636 one of your picks?

        • Chris Heinonen July 17, 2014 at 5:37 PM #

          It will be the pick once it goes up. I’ll be working on a separate review that goes into even more depth, as Wirecutter reviews don’t focus on a specific product. I also want to use more of the Audio Precision bench tests on it, as it does very well.

  2. Lean Pilar August 15, 2014 at 9:09 AM #

    witch speaker do you recommend to use with this one? NS-150 set? or NS 333-c444-555?

    • Chris Heinonen August 17, 2014 at 9:13 AM #

      I have not heard any of the Yamaha home speakers so I can’t comment on those. The Pioneer Andrew Jones line is very good for the money and a full 5 channel system is very affordable. Otherwise I’ll be looking at bookshelf speakers for The Wirecutter soon and can offer more impressions then.

    • Tate Holt October 11, 2014 at 4:26 PM #

      Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers are sounding good with my V473.

  3. Audio August 17, 2014 at 6:56 AM #

    Hello Chris, excellent article. I really like the tests you are performing, can you please do a distortion test for the whole audible spectrum (20~20kHz) instead of only 1kHz? At least for just the 2 outs, like for Hi-Fi use.
    All the best.

    • Chris Heinonen August 17, 2014 at 9:15 AM #

      That is planned for the future. There was an issue with the 20 kHz measurements, which turned out to be a computer monitor also here for review that was causing some line noise up at 60 kHz in the power supply that made the APx number high in those results. The RX-V477 did measure at full power at 20Hz. It was full power at 20 kHz when filtered (because of the monitor), though it’s gone now so I can’t retest.

      Another Yamaha is here for review now and it will have full testing from 20 Hz to 20 kHz for power output.

  4. Dragos Galben August 26, 2014 at 12:43 AM #

    Hello Chris.

    One thing I’m wondering, you say it’s not supporting 4k, but the Yamaha website states that it does:

    http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v477_black_u/

    It seems to be the same model. Am I missing something, or has it changed since your review?
    Thank you for it, btw.

    • Chris Heinonen August 26, 2014 at 11:24 AM #

      This is where it gets confusing. The Yamaha supports 4K, but there is more to is than that. You can do 4K over HDMI 1.4 connectors but that limits your frame rate (usually below 30) or color depth and bitrate. HDMI 2.0 can support higher frame rates, more colors, and more bit depth (for better gradients like a blue sky) but doesn’t have to. As I said, it’s confusing, and you can label a product as HDMI 2.0 while only supporting some of those features.

      Finally, almost all current 4K content is upscaled HD content, say from a 4K scaling Blu-ray player, which uses HDCP 1.2 for copy protection. Future 4K content is going to use HDCP 2.2 for copy protection so if you don’t support that, it won’t pass it at all. The only HDCP 2.2 receivers right now are from Onkyo and Integra, but they don’t support every HDMI 2.0 feature. However, since they have HDCP 2.2 they will be able to play back, or pass through, future 4K content that others cannot.

      So while companies will claim 4K compatibility, unless they say HDCP 2.2 then it likely won’t work down the road with future 4K signals.

      • Dragos Galben August 27, 2014 at 12:08 AM #

        Thank you for taking the time to clear things. Looking forward to your next article.
        Have a great week.

  5. Alex Krstic October 1, 2014 at 6:52 AM #

    Chris, the Yamaha site states the 477 will have a firmware update to support HDMI 2.0. Would that mean it only will be missing 2.2 copy protection?

    Thanks

    Alex

    • Chris Heinonen October 1, 2014 at 3:23 PM #

      HDCP 2.2 can only be added through hardware and not software. So the chipset might have the bandwidth to do HDMI 2.0 features (or it has HDMI 1.4 bandwidth but adds support for 4:2:0 chroma subsampling and then can call itself HDMI 2.0) but without HDCP 2.2 that future 4K content is almost certainly not going to work.

  6. Tate Holt October 10, 2014 at 5:38 PM #

    Chris- I’ve been having trouble with my 2012 rx-v473…HDMI handshake issues resulting in no sound, decoder off & purple/pink hue on video content.

    I route all equipment through AVR via HDMI with one HDMI out to TV.

    Yamaha first offered to replace my AVR with a refurbished V475 (2013 model) but then offered a NEW V477.

    Just curious what you ink about these options for V473
    replacement. I’m leery about refurbished so I jumped on the new V477 offer.

    Thanks

    • Chris Heinonen October 10, 2014 at 6:12 PM #

      Unfortunately I haven’t tested the 473 so I can’t really tell you much about it. I tested the 375 last year, but not to the depth that I tested the 477 so I don’t know for certain how good the amp section might be. Given that I know the 477 is good, I’d go with that myself.

      • Tate Holt October 11, 2014 at 4:25 PM #

        Yeah…seemed like a no-brainer to go for the v477. Just wanted to see if the 475 tested better than the 477 for any reason.

        Thanks for the prompt response.

      • rain tengu001 May 3, 2015 at 6:15 PM #

        Hi Chris,

        Compare with 475, is there significant differences? 475 is some what less in dollars.

        Should I pick 477 then? I use balance music and movie.

        Thanks

        • Chris Heinonen May 4, 2015 at 9:08 PM #

          I haven’t tested the 475 so I can’t offer any insight on it. Lots of things can change between model years, even if it isn’t on the spec sheet. For example, the volume control on the high-end Onkyo units last year went to a much cheaper part than before. You’ll never see it on the specs, but it makes a big difference, which is why I don’t like to comment on things I haven’t used.

  7. Chris Heinonen December 3, 2014 at 9:32 PM #

    The Onkyo 636 is my overall pick at The Wirecutter, but if you don’t need the features it has, or HDCP 2.2 support, then the Yamaha RX-V477 is much cheaper and still very good. Both were able to deal with the Revel f208 speakers, which is more than most people will use on one.

    In that price range I’d look at the Pioneer Andrew Jones bookshelf speakers first, but I’m doing an update to Bookshelf Speakers for The Wirecutter soon, after which I can help more.

    • nycoolass December 4, 2014 at 2:50 PM #

      Hi Chris, Thank you so much for taking time to reply… I have both boxes here… so, I’ll try them both and I paid almost same price for both Onkyo and Yamaha… As for Pioneer Andrew Jones, it seems that we, Frenchies, don’t get to buy them here… So, I just bought the Q Acoustics, I’ll see by myself! 2 more things: 1/ Thank you for pointing to your other site The Wirecutter which is just amazing as well! 2/ Kiitos kaikesta ! (if it means anything ;-))… Anyway, merci beaucoup! Nicolas

  8. william December 27, 2014 at 6:37 AM #

    I have rx v477 in 2 channel stereo setup with 2 floor standing speakers,,,Im not happy the sounds ,,,same like 20 watts per channel,, no good bass,,which is written 80 watts per channel,,,bad product wasting my money,,

    • Chris Heinonen December 28, 2014 at 3:16 PM #

      What speakers are you using? As you can see on the bench test data, the RX-V477 will do 96 watts into an 8 ohm speaker before clipping, but that drops down to 47 watts into a 4 ohm speaker. If you’re using a true 4 ohm speaker, you’re going to need to step up to a much beefier receiver or an external amp to get the power you might want.

      • william December 28, 2014 at 10:41 PM #

        OMG,,,sir chris,,,im mistake,,,im using 4 ohms speakers for my car ..home made…..what is your recommended for 2 speakers in stereo setup ,,I want the same brand,,yamaha…thank you sir

        • Chris Heinonen December 29, 2014 at 3:03 PM #

          I’ve not reviewed any of the Yamaha speakers, so I can’t give you suggestions there. The Pioneer Andrew Jones line is great, and affordable ($130 for bookshelves, $250 for a pair of towers) but Pioneer only sells them in the USA I believe.

  9. ????????? ???? January 5, 2015 at 11:31 PM #

    Hello, Chris! Really good written review! But will this unit have enough capacity for my Wharfedale Obsidian 5.0 cinema pack? Thank you for your opinion!

    • Chris Heinonen January 6, 2015 at 9:24 AM #

      Those speakers are 6 ohms nominal and 88dB sensitive, so it should be fine. You’ll be able to get around 106dB from them with the Yamaha which should be plenty for almost anyone.

  10. Chris Heinonen January 10, 2015 at 3:12 PM #

    There are some speakers that you can do wirelessly, but they both require pre-outs and cost a lot of money ($2,000+ a pair), so they probably aren’t a match for the RX-V477. Since wireless speakers have their own amps built-in, you’re better off using a preamp with them, or a receiver where you can power off the amp section, than a receiver.

  11. Eman January 10, 2015 at 6:50 PM #

    Hi-Thanks so much for your reviews. I was thinking about this receiver and then came across your review and now I have a nice receiver! It is sounding good with my new Polk Monitor60 speakers. I’m still working through the setup as I haven’t made any changes yet from the automated test setup. Thanks!

  12. Dylan Matson January 31, 2015 at 6:56 PM #

    Hi Chris, I have a question regarding two Yamaha Receivers. I currently have the Yamaha RX-V477. The previous receiver I had was a Yamaha RX-V690. It’s much older, and lacks many of the new technology’s and features of the RX-V477. But my question is, how come the V690 can get so much louder. It seems like my new one doesn’t produce enough power or something to be the same as the old one. I have to really crank it up on the new one about 1/2 to get what I got at 1/4 with the old one. Is this just a new protection thing with the amps in the new system so they don’t fry? I have two little polk audio RT3 speakers and a Polk Audio PSW505 Sub. With the acceptation of 2 rear and a middle, but I hardly use surround sound. Unless someone else has something to say about this. Thanks.

    • Chris Heinonen February 1, 2015 at 7:59 AM #

      Dylan,

      This could be multiple things. Both have similar stereo, full bandwidth power ratings so it likely isn’t the amp. But it could be a couple simple things:

      – Did the auto-setup set the fronts to be lower in level than the other speakers? This would cause it to play lower at the same setting.
      – The levels might just not match. The 477 might start the volume at -100 while the 690 starts at -80.

      Since they both have the same maximum output, and you can get the level you want from it, I wouldn’t worry. The volume setting on the knob is something totally up to the vendor and really means nothing.

      • Dylan Matson February 1, 2015 at 12:41 PM #

        Indeed, I’m blind. The 690 does start at -80 instead of -100. I’m not sure why I didn’t notice that in the first place. And the 477 did have the 2 front down to -2. I see that’s there no problem now. Thank you Chris.

  13. Kelly February 26, 2015 at 11:22 AM #

    Chris, thinking about the 477 Yamaha and the pioneer speaker bundle sp-52fs. I see below you like the bookshelf. Would you get the tall floor speakers for the front left and right speakers for home theater along with the center channel and bookshelf for the rear speakers and sub, or do all 4 bookshelf along with center channel and sub? Is the 477 powerful enough for those speakers , mainly for home theater? thank you ! Kelly

    • Chris Heinonen February 27, 2015 at 9:47 AM #

      The towers will provide better midrange and bass with their extra drivers compared to the bookshelves. The 477 should be fine playing them, and if you run a subwoofer it will be easier as well since the deep bass is what really causes the amp to work.

  14. Chris Heinonen February 27, 2015 at 9:47 AM #

    I have no idea about these speakers unfortunately, or what is causing this to happen. Sorry.

  15. Bob March 1, 2015 at 5:56 AM #

    Thanks for the review. I picked up the 477 last week and i am loving i!

  16. Harry Hanson March 29, 2015 at 10:36 AM #

    Hmm.. I don’t understand your statement, “Integrated WiFi also would be nice”. I have the RX-V477 and it has integrated WiFi.

  17. Joop van der Vleut April 1, 2015 at 5:03 AM #

    Hi, I bought the Yamaha V477 after reading this article (and some others ;-) ). Happy with the product. Good upgrade from my quite old Philips AVreceiver. Unfortunately there were some things I didn’t take note off. Can’t play SACD anymore since my dvdplayer outputs in 6ch analog and the Yamaha has no 6ch analog input. Another upgrade to go I guess..
    What surprised me was that new connectivity (HDMI) introduces new challenges. Had quite some problems connecting HDMI-ARC to my Panasonic P50VT60 plasma. It’s probably the Viera-link that’s mixing things up. It now is to the extent that I have to switch on Viera-link every once in awhile to get audio to the receiver. (Viera settings in tv-menu AND in the Apps-section… Weird but true).
    In the end I did the audio out by optical Toslink to the receiver.

    Right now I’m trying to find an external Wifi dongle. Maybe anyone here know whether it possible to use a standard external usb dongle to be bought from eBay?

    Bottom line, I’m very happy with the receiver and would recommend it.

    • Chris Heinonen April 1, 2015 at 8:57 AM #

      The issues with HDMI-CEC (which Panasonic calls VieraLink, and everyone else calls by their own name, but is really HDMI-CEC) are universal it seems. If you are running a very simple setup (Blu-ray player +TV for example) then it usually just works. If you add in an HDMI sound bar or receiver, you start to get into issues with switching correctly to the right input and what controls the audio. It just isn’t the most reliable standard out there and I always use optical output instead. I also have a VT60 and HDMI-ARC on it works sometimes, but not always.

      The best option might be a WiFi Bridge. I have been using a wireless bridge from TP-Link for a few years now that has 4 ethernet ports so I can connect everything to that. It also is a stand-alone device and not a custom USB dongle that will only work with the Yamaha.

      • Joop van der Vleut April 1, 2015 at 11:34 AM #

        HDMI-ARC did indeed work sometimes, but optical seemed more reliable.
        Strange that with new technology you get new problems. The old setup was just fine, apart from problems with lipsync that I couldn’t resolve on the receiver. That was the main reason for buying a new one..
        As for the wifi part, I found a solution, with which I can make new use for my (till now) obsolete Linksys WRT54GL router –> http://www.cnet.com/how-to/reuse-an-old-router-to-bridge-devices-to-your-wireless-network/

        Now I’m into deciding whether to buy me a used Sony BDP-S490 (2012) or Oppo 981HD (2008). Each of them has it’s own qualities. I need one of them for playing SACD by HDMI. Any advice?

  18. shan April 6, 2015 at 11:31 AM #

    Hello Chris. I have a rx-v577. I am finding it difficult to fix a turntable as it does not have a phono jack. Is there any other way I can overcome this problem?

    • Chris Heinonen April 6, 2015 at 11:35 AM #

      You can add a phono preamp to place between the turntable and the receiver. This will convert the low-output of the turntable to the proper level and apply the RIAA EQ curve that is necessary to the output. You can add one like this from Rolls or this Cambridge Audio one and fix that issue.

  19. Miguel April 6, 2015 at 3:15 PM #

    Which “last year models” can be bought used or new that have similar features but are a step up above the Yamaha?

    • Chris Heinonen April 6, 2015 at 3:21 PM #

      I don’t know, but the RX-V477 will likely be a “last years model” soon. I expect most new receivers to offer HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2, though lower-end models may not to save on costs.

  20. Martin Olivo April 14, 2015 at 7:49 PM #

    what speaker do you recommend for this Yamaha receiver?

    • Chris Heinonen April 15, 2015 at 9:03 AM #

      Do you want bookshelves or towers? What price range?

  21. Edward Cabeza April 15, 2015 at 11:14 AM #

    Hi Chris! thank you for the great review. My setup is with 5 speakers and no subwoofer. I am using 2 towers: klipsch reference rc-42 ii and Klipsch rc42 center. I am using for surround speakers 2 sony bookshelf speakers. I am not sure about setting Crossover since I am not using a subwoofer. Any help you can provide will be appreciated.

  22. Rich Schelin April 22, 2015 at 11:15 AM #

    I’m considering the 477 to drive my outdoor setup. I have run 10AWG wires to 5 positions outside, and will primarily be using my iphone to control the unit to play streaming sources around the backyard.
    1. Is there a mode that will send the music “equally” to all 5 channels, when listening to music I want to fill the backyard with lower volume music instead of truly get a surround effect.
    2. Is a Pandora subscription required to stream, or can we do the ad-based free version with this unit?
    Thanks!

    • Rich Schelin April 22, 2015 at 1:03 PM #

      Silly me, I went and dug up the manual and found:
      1. 5 ch stereo sounds exactly like what I want for driving all 5 speakers.
      2. Pandora “free” is supported with Ads.

  23. jim lewis April 27, 2015 at 10:01 AM #

    I think this is a good summary of the features and benefits of this unit. However, as a complete novice to the field of home AV equipment and AV recievers I hadn’t appreciated how some of the features the higher models might offer could benefit me. I’m thinking in particular of the commonly offered ability to play to another zone (in higher models). As I wasn’t aware of it, I didn’t note it’s lack in the 477. I think this is a really useful feature and as the 677 offers line level outputs to an alternate zone that is the unit I wish I had purchased. I am however, very satisfied with the sound performance and ease of use of streaming features etc on the 477

  24. JuanP May 21, 2015 at 10:21 AM #

    Hi Chris, awesome review. I’m debating between getting this unit or the newly released RX-V379BL, the price point is almost the same ($30 difference).

    On the new unit what holds me back is the lack of LAN or wi-fi connectivity (only Bluetooth) and also the lack of reviews; it does include HDCP 2.2 and HDMI 2.0 though which were some of the weak points of the V477.

    Have you tested that unit? What would you recommend between those two?
    Thanks for your opinion.

    • Chris Heinonen May 21, 2015 at 10:57 AM #

      The new models were only announced yesterday and aren’t shipping for another month or so probably. Once they are out I plan to test out at least the 479 model, but it will be a couple months before that can happen.

  25. Gio Elevens May 26, 2015 at 11:34 AM #

    Hi Chris! My samsung TV shares connector for composite and component for video input. Instead of having sets of three connectors for RGB and Composite, I have total 5. One connector is used either as Yellow for composite or Green for RGB. Can I somehow have both RGB and Composite connected to the receiver and have both of the signals transferred to the TV without reconnecting the cables on the back of the TV?

    • Chris Heinonen May 26, 2015 at 12:09 PM #

      No, you can’t. Your best bet is to get a more expensive receiver that does Analog Video to HDMI conversion, but I’d have to look up models to see which support that as I can’t recall off-hand.

      • Gio Elevens May 26, 2015 at 12:45 PM #

        Thank you for verifying and the prompt response. I will sacrifice my RGB and use composite on all old devices.

  26. Barnomoy May 27, 2015 at 2:58 AM #

    Hi Chris! A very nice review. I am looking to get this one for my HT setup. I have an Onkyo TX-SR606 which is pathetic with Video handling and HDMI switching and thus want to replace it (HDMI switching is no longer working). I’m mostly interested in good 5.1 sound with networking and PC/phone mirroring abilities. My current speakers are Polk Audio TSi 300 floorstanders for the front, Polk Audio CS10 Center, Polk Audio OMW3 for the rear surrounds and an active Polk Audio PSW10 sub. I intend to keep the speakers as is. How suited is the V477 in this Scenario?

    • Chris Heinonen May 27, 2015 at 8:32 AM #

      Since those are all 8 ohm nominal speakers, the Yamaha should be able to drive them just fine. I’d also expect the V477 might be on sale, or having a price reduction, soon as the V479 was announced last week.

      • Barnomoy May 27, 2015 at 8:59 AM #

        Thanks Chris for the fast reply! Unfortunately I’m from India and we don’t have any sale as of now. I was wondering if I could bring a unit from the US and play it here ($249 looks mouth watering)? Are these units built to accept 110/120v and 220/230v AC (what we have in India) power input in the same unit?

        • Chris Heinonen May 28, 2015 at 9:09 AM #

          Some of the 477 models ship with a voltage selection switch, some do not. I imagine the ones in the USA do not since everything here is 120V but models destined for areas with both may have the switch.

          • Barnomoy May 28, 2015 at 1:33 PM #

            Thanks a ton for the reply, Chris! Much appreciated.

  27. Mattias DH June 11, 2015 at 7:54 AM #

    Hi Chris, I keep on coming back to this article (great review), as this unit looks like an even better deal now the V479 is almost out. Everything seems to suit my needs better (includes composite video, don’t care for too much wireless options), _except_ for the new remote control which looks a lot handier.
    Any idea if the new remote (same as with the V379) is backward compatible with this model, and available separately..?

    • Chris Heinonen June 16, 2015 at 10:43 PM #

      Sorry for the delay on this, but I have no idea. I’m hoping to review the updated 479 soon, but I don’t know if the remote will work or not.

  28. Patrick McCartney June 24, 2015 at 1:48 AM #

    Hello Chris,

    i just bought this receiver as part of the YHT-7910AU (HTIB).

    http://au.yamaha.com/en/products/audio-visual/hometheater-systems/home-theater-package/yht-7910au/?mode=model.

    I simply don’t have the space to put the floor standing speakers up front, i was hoping to swap the FL FR with the SL SR.

    Is this a feasable option and if so is it better to calibrate using YPAO or doing it manually.

    Kind regards
    Patrick

    • Chris Heinonen June 24, 2015 at 9:26 AM #

      You can do that and it should be fine. You’ll have to redirect more of the bass to the subwoofer from the front channels than usual so it won’t be as good for music most likely, but it will work.

      You can run YPAO and see if it gets the distance and levels correct, which it should, and copy those numbers down. It might not get the crossovers correct, but then you can fix those yourself if you want. None of the automated routines are really great unless they include a calibrated mic like Anthem does.

      • Patrick McCartney June 24, 2015 at 2:52 PM #

        Great will see how I go. Thank you for the detailed and swift response

  29. Techhead June 30, 2015 at 6:28 AM #

    such a shame, this unit is useless if you want to use the Audio Return Channel from the TV, over HDMI.
    One is forced to unplug the amp and plug in again to listen to sound from the TV.
    Yamaha FAIL.

    • Chris Heinonen June 30, 2015 at 7:04 AM #

      I’ve yet to have ARC work properly on anything all the time. Multiple receivers and sound bars, ARC works sometimes and then sometimes it fails. At this point I don’t think it’s a vendor problem, but how ARC and HDMI-CEC work together. I went back to Optical in my own system because it works all the time.

    • Dan Petre November 29, 2015 at 10:16 AM #

      I own a Yamaha 477 and I had trouble with ARC, it used to cut off sometimes. I have used a shorter HDMI cable and since then It works flawlessly. Over a long thin wire noise can mess up the digital signal. It wont ever manifest as a noisy sound but it would stop the sound being transmitted at all.
      I have used the long HDMI cable previously without issues with a PVR box and had no issues with it.

  30. Albert July 1, 2015 at 12:44 PM #

    Hi Chris,
    I have wharfedale DX1 5.1, all speakers are 4 Ohm.
    I want to buy Yamaha 677 or Denon x2100 (250-280 GBP)
    As I know Yamaha 677 4 ohms speakers can be connected only yo front, , rear must be 6 ohm.
    Denon can be configured for 4 ohm for all speakers, but because it very powerful reiver it can burn speakers
    Can you please help with the problem?
    Thank you..

    • Chris Heinonen July 2, 2015 at 9:33 AM #

      Don’t worry about a receiver providing your speakers too much power. That never really happens in the real world, as you’d find it to be far too loud before you damaged them. It’s considered worse to have too little power, because the amplifier could clip and that’s more likely to damage speaker or sound worse.

      The Yamaha will likely do fine with surrounds that are 4 Ohm, since they aren’t usually played as loud. But if the reason you’re worried about the Denon is because of too much power, don’t be.

  31. Obaid Shah July 19, 2015 at 10:55 AM #

    Hello i want to use my RX-V477 With BOSE Acoustimass 10 Speaker whats your Opinion Chris..?

    • Chris Heinonen July 19, 2015 at 5:37 PM #

      If you already own the Bose system, then it will work fine with it. If you don’t own the Bose system, then there are better options. The way the Acoustimass 10 system is designed you have to run all the speakers through the subwoofer and then from there to the receiver. That means no matter where you put the sub, all the speakers have to run wires to it, then it has to be close enough to the receiver for its custom cable to reach. This limits you from putting the sub in the best location for sound quality, and makes wiring more complex.

      Also, there are a whole lot of other speakers that sound better than Bose for the money. They’re too small to have decent midrange or bass at all, and if the sub picks that up then everything sounds like it’s coming from the location of the sub.

  32. AJ July 26, 2015 at 8:33 PM #

    Would this work if I have a set of Sony speakers that came with a HTIB. They are rated 3ohms. I know I will probably need a new sub woofer since the one with the HTIB would need power but would the speakers be fine or would I blow them since this is rated 6ohms. Thanks.

    • Chris Heinonen July 27, 2015 at 5:52 AM #

      I expect it would be fine, but I’ll be honest and say I don’t know for certain. My guess is that Sony uses a 3 ohm rating because it then makes the amp look like it produces more power than it really does (8 ohm ratings are traditional, 3 ohm would produce better numbers but the same current) and the Yamaha would be fine. I’d have to research this to know for sure, though.

  33. Jeff September 1, 2015 at 2:49 PM #

    Hey Chris.
    I recently bought the rx v477.
    But i need some speakers. And i am no expert in this.
    I now have a jamo sub 210 woofer, and want 2 bookshelf speakers.
    Price range 400usd.(350euro)

    Greetings Jeffrey

    • Chris Heinonen September 1, 2015 at 5:10 PM #

      For just a pair of bookshelves, I recently did a huge piece for Wirecutter where I listened to 21 pairs here. The best overall was the Dali Zensor 1 which you can also get a matching center for later on. If you can stretch the budget the KEF Q100 was a clear step up (and I bought KEF R300’s after listening to the KEF models) but more expensive. Those would be my suggestions.

  34. Jeff September 2, 2015 at 2:54 AM #

    And what do you think about the yamaha ns 333 or the jamo c91?

    • Chris Heinonen September 2, 2015 at 6:05 AM #

      I haven’t heard either of those myself so I can’t really comment on them.

  35. Branko SS December 4, 2015 at 6:07 AM #

    Hi, i got this receiver and using it with jamo e650. It sounds good but you did not notice one very important thing. It has delay. If you connect a guitar procesor to it is hasso much delay that you cant play guitar and the only way you can go around the problem is listening it in direct mode. And in direct mode sounds like crap. Before this i had panasonic sa he 70 and it did not have any delay ! I was able to use all of the dsp modes and not one had delay and the panasonic sounded better. 10 years old equipment cant be conpared to 2014-2015 electronics. I know my speakers are not very good but hey why no one talks about the delay! All computer stuff in it. The old receivers ware analogue. One chip for dsp one for proligic one for dts. No delay. Hdmi updates this and that. One big pile of crap.

  36. ande_raven February 9, 2016 at 3:09 PM #

    Hi, I’m looking for a receiver to use mainly for music, using 2 speakers. I’m not sure if there are disadvantages (concerning sound) when using a surround system for only music purposes (2speakers)? I have also been looking for powerful stereo receivers, but these are most of the time expensive (even second hand). Do you think this receiver is a good buy just using it for music playback?

    • Chris Heinonen February 10, 2016 at 8:40 AM #

      Going with a pure stereo receiver can get you better features, like a better designed volume control and more powerful amplifier. It might seem strange that a volume control would be so important, but since every audio signal has to go through that circuit, the better designed it is the lower distortion and noise you’ll get in the end.

      However you can use something like the Yamaha just fine as a stereo receiver. The amp will be able to focus on only two channels though it still isn’t ideal for harder loads (those below 6 ohms) while a stereo amp is likely better there.

      • ande_raven February 12, 2016 at 2:52 AM #

        thanks for your reply Chris, I’ve decided to go for an older (second hand) stereo amplifier, because of the fact the older models often sound nicer, plus your arguements confirm my choice.

  37. Andrew Whitcomb March 15, 2016 at 3:48 PM #

    You said that there is no HDMI 2.0, but I thought they said they support 4K like the other models. Are you sure about this? How do you know there isn’t any HDMI 2.0?

    • Chris Heinonen March 15, 2016 at 5:08 PM #

      You can do 4K with HDMI 1.4a, you just can only do it at 8-bits per pixel with 24Hz or 30Hz. To do it with 10-bits or 12-bits for HDR and wide color gamut, and 60Hz, you need HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2. The Yamaha lacks those on 2014 models like the 477.

  38. Ilias April 19, 2016 at 9:13 AM #

    Hi Chris,
    I own Yamaha 477 and now i’m considering to purchase a pair of Dali Zensor 5 as front speakers. Will Zensor 5 pair good the Yamaha? How abt Dali Zensor 7? Is it too much for my space and Yamaha? The room is abt 25 sq.mtrs. Also note 80% movies & 20% music. Thanks in advance.

  39. Parvez January 2, 2017 at 5:56 AM #

    Hi everyone,

    This is Parvez from indian capital . I have a query , is it possible to connect Active subwoofer come along with sony SA D 10 with my Yamaha RX – V 477 audio video reciever . If yes , please suggest me the type of cable to be used for connecting the two.

Leave a Reply